Project 365 – Happy “Photography Birthday” To Me!

Infrared PhotoOne year ago today I took my very first photography class and that class was the catalyst to forever changing the way I see the world around me and capturing life via my camera.  The event was so significant to me that I have deemed January 28 is my official “photography birthday”.  It’s been a wonderful and challenging journey so far.  I am blown away by how much I have learned this past year, but even more astounded with what I don’t yet know and all that I hope to discover about the art of photography.

In honor of my “birthday” I made a double mini batch of chocolate chip cupcakes for my family.  And the icing on the proverbial cupcake today was the arrival of two happy photography surprises.  The first was this old Minolta camera pictured in today’s photo.  I am fascinated with old cameras and decided to start a little collection of vintage camera gear.  This was my first camera purchase for my collection.  Sadly it doesn’t work, but considering what I paid for it on Ebay I didn’t really expect it to.  I don’t mind though.  I still think it’s super stinking cool!

The other big surprise was receiving my newly-converted infrared camera back from LifePixels!  What a wonderfully fitting “birthday present” to begin a whole new year on my photographic journey.  While infrared photography is quite a different animal than what I’ve been learning over the past year, I am up for the challenge and thrilled about this new photographic adventure.  Today’s Project 365 image was taken with my infrared camera.  (And, in case you’re wondering, I did make a photography wish when I blew out the candle.) 🙂

As always, please leave your comments, suggestions, and critiques below.  Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

