Project 365 – Painted Path

Today’s Project 365 will surely go on record as being one of the most fun Project 365 photos for me so far during this challenge.  As you can see the image looks a lot more like a painting than it does a photograph.  Recently I have been looking for ways to create a painted style for my images using Photoshop and, just yesterday, I found a tutorial on how to do it in… sort of.  Then a little later in the day one of my photography club friends posted an amazing painterly image on our club Facebook page.  I couldn’t believe my eyes and the timing!  I found out that he used Simplify software by Topaz and I immediately signed up for the free 30-day trial.  Oh my word!  It’s amazing and exactly what I was looking for!

There’s definitely a bit of a learning curve with the software, but I like how I can take some rather ho-hum images and transform them into something much more exciting.  This particular image may never have seen the light of day without the use of the Simplify software.  The next 30 days are surely going to fly by as I play around with this amazing software!

Painted Path

As always, please leave your comments, suggestions, and critiques below.  Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “Project 365 – Painted Path

  1. Neat! Very pretty.
    I used to take close up photos of water. Have you ever tried that? It is amazing what the camera captures when you take it real close up with the sun hitting it at different angles throughout the day. It would probably look cool enhanced with your software.

    • Hi Donna,
      No, I haven’t tried that. I am going to Myrtle Beach in a few days so I should have plenty of opportunity to photograph water. I can’t wait to use my software on my beach photos. It will be too cold to swim so I am sure I will snap a whole lot of photos!

Leave a Reply

