Project 365 – Thorny Tree

On my recent hikes to a nearby metro park I found these strange, thorny trees.  I have no idea what kind of tree they are, but they just called out to be photographed.  I was able to capture some cool images, but something told me I should try converting them to black and white.  In color, they just didn’t quite capture the dramatic feeling these trees evoke.  But as soon as I converted the first image to black and white I just knew it was the way they were meant to be portrayed.

Do you know what kind of tree these are?  I would love to hear from you if you do.

DSC09848

As always, please feel free to leave your comments, suggestions, and critiques below.  Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “Project 365 – Thorny Tree

  1. Hey Susan, I found your blog from the Focus Photo club page. Just wanted to say that the tree with the thorns is a honey locust tree – most people hate these trees but I love them!

    Nice blog, btw!

    • Hi Jean,

      Thank you, Jean, and thank you for the clarification on the tree. I think it’s such a cool tree too. It is so fun to photograph!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Susan

Leave a Reply

