Project 365 – 50th Anniversary Portraits

Earlier this year my parent’s celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary and we had a big party with friends and family from all over the country to celebrate the momentous event.  It was a wonderful occasion… one my parents will likely never forget.  However, in all the hubbub we never found the time to take any portraits of my parents.  In hindsight, this was probably a really good thing because, you see, ever since then I have been immersed in studying photography.  I know so much more about photography now than I did even just a few months ago, and I am certain I couldn’t have taken these photographs at that time.

But while I am proud of the progress I have made so far, I struggle every daily knowing that there is still so very much I just don’t know and cannot do as a photographer.  In fact, I left this shoot with my parents today feeling really discouraged.  When we arrived at the location I was really at a loss for knowing how and where to pose my parents.  Then there was the whole question of camera settings and how to deal with all that sun!  Fortunately, they were patient with me while I muddled through it all.

In the end, however, our primary goal of just one good “keeper” portrait was achieved.  Despite the fact that eliciting a smile from my father is much akin to pulling a crocodile’s teeth, we still managed to get a few good images out of the shoot. Here are just a few of the photos from today’s shoot.

DSC09980

50th Anniversary

My Mom

As always, please feel free to leave your comments, suggestions, and critiques below.  Thanks for looking!

4 thoughts on “Project 365 – 50th Anniversary Portraits

  1. Congratulations to your parents! You’ve got some wonderful portraits here, and they are all keepers. If I may make a suggestion: watch your head heights. Typically, you want all the heads to be in line as much as possible. Otherwise, it can create the illusion of one person being very short compared to the other. For example, see the discrepancies in height between photo 1 and 2. Wonderful photos!

    • Sonya,

      Thank you so much for your constructive critique. I see it so clearly now that you pointed it out. While we were shooting I commented that we needed a height adjustment, so I think I instinctively knew it. But it didn’t really bother me until you pointed it out here. I honestly think I learn more when people critique my photos than I do after spending hours of reading, studying, and practicing. Thank you for so much for taking the time to comment. I really do appreciate it.

      Susan

Leave a Reply

