Project 365 – Barn Door (My First Ribbon!)

Today’s photo is actually one of my submissions for my monthly photography club contest.  This was the first time I have entered a photograph in a contest and I was as nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof!  Each month we have a themed category as well as “open”.  Our September theme was “Barns”.

Surprisingly, I found this challenge to be particularly difficult.  I ran all over the place looking for just the right barn, and despite the fact that we live in an area where there are a lot of barns I had an extremely difficult time finding an interesting one to photography.  And when I did find one, I wasn’t able to get an image I was pleased with.  This experience has taught me that I have A LOT to learn about photographing landscapes!  It’s a whole lot more difficult that it sounds, at least for me.

A friend spotted the farm I ended up using for my submission.  Try as I might, I was not able to get a decent exterior photo of the barn.  I always tried shooting it at sunset and just couldn’t get the right camera settings, composition, lighting, etc.  Fortunately, the inside of the barn was full of character and it was my saving grace for this assignment.

I ended up with a 3rd place ribbon for this photograph!  I was quite surprised and humbled considering the level of competition in our club.  Though my other two photographs scored too poorly to earn a ribbon, I was buoyed and elated to have earned a ribbon at all in my first ever photography competition!

Barn Door

Leave a Reply

