Project 365 – Cicada Exoskeleton

The bittersweet day of ushering my youngest child off to kindergarten has at last arrived.  While I sincerely thought that day had already arrived some eleven years ago, God had a wonderful surprise in store for us.  But now I think it’s a pretty safe bet to say that today was truly the last time I shall choke back tears as I watch my child climb the steps of the big yellow bus for the first day his academic adventure.  I don’t know whether to cry tears of happiness or sorrow.  My baby boy is growing up!

Ah, well, there’s always my beloved camera to keep me company in the lonely hours of my children’s absence.  And I reluctantly admit, lest you think me terribly heartless, that I didn’t waste a single moment with a box of tissues following his departure.  I immediately snatched up my camera and was off on my own adventure!  What can I say?  A mom is entitled to her photo therapy, yes?

For the next two hours I blissfully snapped photo after photo, attempting to put into practice all that I am learning from my photographic studies.  Here’s one of my favorite finds of the day.

Cicada Exoskeleton

Leave a Reply

