Orange & Ginger Baby Bundts with Maple Glaze

SONY DSCThis week I am back to cake recipe inventing.  I am really enjoying learning more about the why’s and how’s of baking and recipe building, but I admit I do find it all rather overwhelming.  My admiration for pasty chefs continues to grow the deeper I dive into my baking adventure.  The more I learn about baking chemistry, the more certain I am I will never be a pastry chef.   I shall never again watch another episode of Food Network Challenge the same way!  I am in awe of what they do!

The inspiration for this latest recipe came in my mailbox.  I was excited to discover the March 2013 issue of Saveur Magazine was all about donuts!  But it wasn’t the donut recipes that had me so excited.  It was the glazes for the donuts!  It occurred to me that I could use these decadent looking recipes to dress up my baby bundts.  Yay!  The recipes all look so incredibly fabulous: Dulce de Leche Glaze, Amaretto Cherry Glaze, Irish Cream Glaze, White Chocolate Cardamom Glaze, Marshmallow Glaze… My mouth was watering as I gazed upon the incredible glazes!  There were over a dozen fabulous glaze recipes and each and every one has already been added into my cookbook software.

But it was the maple glaze recipe really caught my eye.   I recently purchased a number of Boyajian oils and flavorings for my cake recipes, and maple was among the newest of the flavors to hit my pantry.  I was itching to try it out.  So, with the first flavor component in mind, I consulted my trusty Flavor Bible for other complimentary flavors.  There, among all the flavors listed were orange and ginger.  Bingo!  Ginger was already in the fridge and I had a brand spanking new bottle of orange oil in the pantry.  Perfect.

The next stop was the web site I have been using to develop my recipes.   I put together the recipe and got to work.  I gathered the ingredients and grated the ginger.

SONY DSC

First, I creamed the butter, then I added the sugar and beat it until it was light and fluffy.

SONY DSC

Then I added the egg yolks and egg one at a time, beating between each addition.

SONY DSC

Next, I added the grated ginger and orange oil and mixed well.

SONY DSC

I sifted the dry ingredients…

SONY DSC

And mixed up the buttermilk.  I love having dehydrated buttermilk on hand.  I almost never have real buttermilk so I always keep a container of Saco buttermilk in the fridge.  Just mix it with water and, voila!  Instant buttermilk!

SONY DSC

Then, alternating the dry ingredients with the buttermilk I incorporated it all into the batter.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

My original recipe started with half a cup of buttermilk, but ended up adding an additional 1/4 cup to thin the batter a bit.   I was a bit concerned that this might ruin the cake, but the batter seemed a little too thick so I took my chances.

SONY DSC

Here it is after I thinned it.

SONY DSC

I like working with small batches for my test recipes in case the recipe is a disaster.  This one filled almost 2 baby bundt pans.

SONY DSC

I used my convection bake feature and baked these on two different shelves.  The bottom shelf baked faster and I ended up taking it out at 11 minutes.  The cakes were browner than the top shelf pan, perhaps due in part because the pan was only partially full of batter.

SONY DSC

Here they are cooling on the counter.  The ones in the back were baked on the lower shelf.

SONY DSC

While these cooled I mixed up the glaze.

SONY DSC

I just dumped all the ingredients in a bowl and whisked them together.   I deviated from magazine recipe by using half and half instead of whipping cream because I didn’t have any on hand, and adding 1/2 teaspoon of maple flavoring, 1/4 tsp at a time.  The glaze didn’t have quite enough maple flavor to my liking so I decided to try the maple flavoring (or maybe it was just an excuse to use my new flavoring 🙂 ).  Now that the glaze has had a chance to sit a bit, I think 1/4 tsp would have been enough.

SONY DSC

It took all of my will power to wait to eat this until after I snapped the photos!  I thought the cake really was good.  I think it was the right move to add the additional buttermilk although I think I will adjust the final measurement down a bit because I did have some difficulty getting a couple of the cakes out of the pan in one piece (you wouldn’t know that from my photos because I ate the evidence!)

SONY DSC

This recipe is getting moved from my “Test Recipe” cookbook into my keeper recipes.  I loved the combination of orange, ginger and maple.  I would love to hear from you if you try my recipe or if you’re an experienced chef.  I would love to have your feedback, good and bad, so I can make improvements wherever possible.  Thanks for stopping by!

Orange Ginger Cake with Maple Glaze

1 1/2 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1 eggs
2 egg yolks
1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
2/3 cup buttermilk
2 tsp fresh grated ginger
1/4 tsp orange oil (or 1/2 tsp orange extract)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat convection oven to 300 or regular oven to 325.

2. In a small bowl sift together dry ingredients.

3. Cream butter then add sugar and beat until light and fluffy.

4. Add egg and yolks one at a time, beating after each addition.

5. Add grated ginger and orange oil and mix well.

6. Beginning and ending with the flour, mix 1/3 of the flour into 
the wet mixture at a low speed, then 1/2 of the milk, alternating 
until all ingredients are mixed.

7. Fill prepared baby bundt pans 1/2 full with batter.  Tap pan on 
counter several times to release air bubbles and even out batter.  
Bake in convection oven for 11-13 minutes or until toothpick inserted 
into cake comes out clean.

8. Cool cakes for 10 minutes and then invert onto a cooling rack.

9. Cool completely.  Top with maple glaze and enjoy!

Maple Glaze (I halved this recipe since it was a small cake batch)

2 cups confectioners' sugar
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 tsp maple flavor
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/8 tsp kosher salt1. 

Whisk sugar, syrup, cream and salt in a bowl until smooth.

Leave a Reply

