Lime Baby Bundts With Strawberry Jalapeno Jam and Lime Buttercream Frosting

SONY DSCI am on a baby bundt baking roll!  I had an idea for a flavor combination that I couldn’t get out of my head, and although this recipe won’t make it to my parent’s 50th anniversary party, I think it might be a winner!  I need to make some minor tweaks to the recipe, but I really thought all the flavors worked together.  I think I will probably pursue a regular strawberry cake recipe for the party because my mom adores strawberries, but I can tell you I did not acquire my love for all things spicy from her.  Even though the jam really doesn’t have any heat to it (at least not that I can tell, though my heat seeking taste sensors might be dulled due to a lifetime of enjoying the spicier side of life) my dear mother would be less than thrilled to have her beloved strawberries accompanying a pepper in any form.  But alas, with so many jars of strawberry jalapeno jam left on the pantry shelf it is time to start figuring new ways to use it.

I am getting more daring with my creativity and trying to come up with my own cake recipes.  I really want to understand the science behind baking a bit more than I do.  So this recipe, good or bad, is my own.  I did have a couple missteps along the way, but in the end I think I have something I can work with.  I doubt I will get to play around much with this recipe for the foreseeable future as I need to solidify the dessert plan for my parent’s party, but hopefully I can try again and report back before too long (or maybe YOU might like to try my modified recipe and report back to me! 😉 .  I will give you the step-by-step of what I did and then I will finish with what I think the recipe should be next time.

So first I creamed 3/4 cup of unsalted, room temperature butter.

SONY DSC

Next, I added 1 3/4 cups of sugar and creamed the mixture again.

SONY DSC

Then I added 3 room temperature eggs one at a time, blending well between each addition.

SONY DSC

I zested a lime…

SONY DSC

 And I added it to the batter along with 1 tablespoon of lime juice and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

SONY DSC

Then I sifted together 3 cups of all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  This is where I think I made one of my missteps.  I think there is a problem with the baking soda and baking powder combinations.  I think next time I will try either 2 teaspoons of baking powder or 2 teaspoons of baking soda. (If you’re a baker and have any thoughts here I’d love to hear them!)

SONY DSC

Next, I mixed in the dry ingredients alternating with 1 1/2 cup of homemade plain Greek yogurt starting and finishing with the dry ingredients.  I think I should have used milk as part of my liquid ingredient here.  Next time I plan to use 1 cup of yogurt and 1/2 cup of milk.

SONY DSC

The batter was a bit too thick when I finished adding all the ingredients, but I went ahead with one batch anyway just to see how they turned out. Here’s what the batter looked like after I mixed in all the ingredients.

SONY DSC

The cakes puffed up pretty quickly.  I am not sure if that is because I overfilled the pan, or if the batter was too thick, or perhaps the baking soda and baking powder had something to do with it.  The also cooked really fast and browned around the edges more quickly that my other cakes have.  I was using my convection oven at 325, but I turned it down to 310 degrees as soon as I noticed the problem.  Here’s what they looked like while baking.

SONY DSC

So to try to remedy the problem with the batter, I decided to add 1/4 cup of milk.  I was pretty nervous that I was going to mess up the rest of the batter, but the first batch just didn’t have the right look or feel to them.  The outside of the cakes were a dry, crumbly texture probably due to the fact that the batter didn’t have enough moisture.  I tried to gently fold in the milk so as not to over mix the batter.

SONY DSC

The next batch of cakes came out much better!  I forgot to take a photo, but you can see the end result from the dressed up cake at the top and bottom of the post.

While the cakes cooled I creamed 1 stick of room temperature butter with 1 tablespoon of key lime juice and 1 tablespoon of milk.

SONY DSC

Then I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and just a touch of neon green food coloring (because I didn’t have any regular green on hand).  I was lax about taking photos at this point.  Sorry.  The frosting was a very pale green which was just the way I wanted it.  The flavor was okay, but I am not sure I loved the key lime juice.  I used it because I had a bottle and I thought key limes were supposed to taste better than regular limes.  I really think I am going to use Lorann lime oil the next time I make this.  I really love using Lorran oils for flavoring when I am making baked goods.  I just find the flavors to be spot on.  This frosting just wasn’t quite “perfect” for me.

Here’s my favorite little kitchen helper getting a peek into the mixing bowl as I worked.  Yes, he was rewarded with a sample… or two.  🙂  (Please don’t mind the pizza sauce on his cheek.  It was leftover from his grilled pizza sandwich he had for lunch.)

SONY DSC

Once the cakes were cool, I used a baby spoon to insert the homemade strawberry jalapeno jam into the cake cavity.  Then I put a little frosting in small zippy, snipped a tiny bit off one corner and piped it on top of the cake.

SONY DSC

So, there you have it.  That’s what I did and now here’s how I plan to make it next time.

Lime Baby Bundt Cakes with Strawberry Jalapeno Jam and Lime Buttercream Frosting (A work in process.)

Cake Ingredients: 
1 cup Greek yogurt, plain
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 Tbs lime zest
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp Lorann lime oil (or 1 tsp lime extract)
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Frosting Ingredients:
1 stick of butter, room temperature
1/2 tsp Lorann lime oil (or 1 tsp lime extract)
1-2 tbls milk
2 cups powdered sugar

1. Preheat convection oven to 300 (or a regular oven to 325 degrees). Grease and 
flour mini bundt pans or spray with baking spray.

2. In large bowl beat butter until creamy, about 2 minutes. Add sugar and beat at 
medium speed for about 2-3 minutes.

3. Beat in eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. 

4. Add lime zest and lime oil and mix well.

5. In medium bowl, combine flour and baking soda and baking powder, and salt. Sift. 

6. In a small bowl, combine yogurt and milk until well blended.

7. Gradually add dry ingredients and yogurt/milk mixture to butter mixture, beginning 
and ending with flour mixture.

4. Pour into prepared mini bundt pans, and bake for 13-14 minutes, or until a wooden
pick inserted in center comes clean. Let cool in pans for 10 minutes. Remove from 
pans, and cool completely on wire racks.

5. While the cakes are cooling, cream the butter for the frosting. 

6. Mix lime oil, milk and powdered sugar into the butter, adding just enough milk to make 
the frosting light and fluffy.7. When the cakes are completely cool fill each cake cavity with 1 1/2 teaspoons jam and top 
with buttercream frosting.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

