Shrimp Quesadilla With Homemade Monterey Jack Cheese

SONY DSCWell, between the usual holiday rush in the shop and the busyness of the holiday season, as well as a very special project I am working on (sorry, this is super secret stuff that I cannot divulge until a later date 😉 ), I’ve had little time to spend blogging about my creative adventures.  But I wanted to add a quick post as a sort of update to my cheese making endeavors.

A little while back I played around with cheese making and much to my surprise I concocted some really amazing cheese.  One of my very favorites was my homemade Monterey Jack cheese.  After vacuum sealing my handiwork and tucking it away for a couple of months I decided it was time to open it up and give it a try.  I must say that I was completely floored with the results!  When I bit into my homemade cheeses I really couldn’t believe I had actually made them myself!  I am no cheese connoisseur, but even my friend preferred my homemade cheese to the fancy-schmancy local grocery store cheese shop cheese I served for our cooking group.  🙂  (Of course there is that possibility that she was just flattering me, but let’s not go there.)

Tonight I decided to try my Monterey Jack cheese in some shrimp quesadillas.  The recipe was super simple to put together.  First, I cut up some peppers and onions and sauteed them in a bit of oil.

SONY DSC

Once the peppers and onions had cooked through and the onions were translucent I added the shrimp.

SONY DSC

I cooked this for a few minutes until the shrimp was nice and pink.  I tossed in a teaspoon of cumin, a teaspoon of chili powder, a bit of lime juice, and some sea salt.

SONY DSC

Once this was all heated through and nicely incorporated, I removed it from the heat.  Then it was just a matter of building the quesadillas.  A flour tortilla topped with a bit of cheese, some of the shrimp and veggies, some more cheese (just for good measure)…

SONY DSC

Topped with another tortilla and grilled to perfection.  (Okay, well maybe a bit over perfection, but it was still delectable.)

SONY DSC

The only thing left to add was a dollop of Wholly Guacamole and Salsa, which was just .49 with a fabulous coupon deal at Kroger last week.  Score!

SONY DSC

Let me tell you, this was one quick and tasty dinner!  I am not sure when I will have time to try my hand at some more cheese making, but I am buoyed by my success and I hope I can try making more sometime soon.

3 thoughts on “Shrimp Quesadilla With Homemade Monterey Jack Cheese

Leave a Reply

