Happy Harvesting!

We have officially entered the heat of the harvest here with my square food garden!  Yesterday I harvested lots of tomatoes as well as some cucumbers, beans, and our first few ears of corn.  There are lots of peppers ready for harvesting and I think the edemame should be coming in strong next week. But I only picked what I thought I could handle for one day of canning.

My tomatoes are starting to come in strong, although we have been enjoying them for several weeks.  From the look of my tomato plants I am going to be one very busy girl for the next week or two.  I canned the larger tomatoes, but decided to dehydrate the little ones since I didn’t have time to make some Yellow Pear Tomato & Ginger Jam.

I tried a new recipe with this batch of cucumbers: Fast Favorite Garlic Dill Pickles.  I have made several varieties of pickles this summer and wanted to try something new.  We will give them a try in a few week to see if the recipe is a keeper.  The recipe was a cinch to make so I really hope it turns out to be a family favorite.

I am really disappointed in my green bean harvest for the year.  I really didn’t plant enough and will definitely plan for more next year.  The few bean plants I did put in were ravaged by some kind of bug, most likely cucumber beetles.  Grrrr….  I picked just one jalapeno, but there are lots more on the way.  Can you say Strawberry Jalapeno Jam and Hot Pepper Jelly?   Yum!

My final harvest for the day was the first, and perhaps last of our corn harvest.  I was amazed to see the kernals when I pull back the husks on these undersized ears.  The corn plants took such a beating with the weather.  This was the first time we’ve ever tried growing corn and I was really excited as I watched it grow.  But It quickly went from looking pretty good to really bad.  I think a lot had to do with the very dry conditions we had this summer.  I am encouraged to try again next year and still hold out a little hope for the other small patch I planted a few weeks after this one.

That’s all for today’s update.  Back soon for a post on Strawberry Jalapeno Jam!  Oh yeah!

3 thoughts on “Happy Harvesting!

  1. Pingback: Last Glimpses Of The Summer Harvest | Lil' Suburban Homestead

Leave a Reply

