Banana Oatmeal Muffins

It was decision time.  Either use the oh-so-very, very ripe bananas today or feed ’em to Seymour (our composter).  Sorry, Seymour, you lose.  My littlest helper and I were hungry following our morning run and some healthy muffins seemed like just the ticket to fill our bellies.

I found a yummy looking recipe, but decided to make them a bit healthier by subbing some of the all purpose flour with whole wheat.  The resulting muffins were dynomite!  I hadn’t intended to blog about it so I didn’t take any photos along the way.  But they were so tasty I just had to document it.  I am rather notorious for never making a “slam-dunk dish” again and I didn’t want to forget about this one.

I completely forgot to add in some flax seed this go-round, but I plan to tinker with this recipe a bit and try adding some next time.  I also think this recipe would work well if apples and zucchini were substituted for the bananas.  I’ll have to give that a try for a future post.  This recipe is a keeper and will be useful for some fun experimenting!

(I couldn’t resist messing around in Photoshop.  😉  Now I am thinking about starting a scrapbook with our favorite recipes!)

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Ingredients

    • 1 cup all purpose flour
    • 1 cup whole wheat flour
    • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
    • 1 cup brown sugar
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1 1/2 cups bananas, mashed
    • 2 eggs
    • 1/3 cup butter, melted
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F In medium bowl, stir together the flour, oatmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. In a separate bowl, combine the mashed bananas, eggs, vanilla and butter. Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture, stirring just until the dry ingredients are moistened.
  2. Spoon batter into greased muffin cups. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes (start watching around 12 minutes; oven temperatures vary) or until toothpick inserted into center muffin comes out clean. Let cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove muffins from pan and let cool on wire rack.
2 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

