Darn Goods

So do you remember these tasty breakfast morsels from your scouting days of yesteryear?  They were, and still are a popular camping breakfast project for both boy and girl scouts.  I didn’t remember that until I Googled Bisquick donuts and found the recipe.  It’s no wonder they are such a hit with the scouters.  They are extremely simple to make and, well, darn good!

All you need is some Bisquick, water, cinnamon, sugar, and a bit of oil to fry it all up.  Seriously, it takes like 2 minutes to put the ingredients together.  Heating the oil is the most time consuming part, but then the fry time is just a couple minutes more.  I love any recipe that earns me a super hero title for a day, while requiring very little effort on my part.

So, while the deep fryer was heating the oil I tossed a cup of Bisquick in a bowl and, with a fork mixed in 1/4 cup of water.   If you don’t have a deep fryer, not to worry!  Just heat a couple of inches of oil in a deep sided skillet.

Once the oil reached 375 degrees, I used my handy dandy Pampered Chef cookie scoop to drop the dough into the oil.

The whole batch fit perfectly in the fryer with lots of room to spare!

Then the fried little dough balls were tossed in some cinnamon sugar.  You can put the cinnamon sugar in a paper bag to toss the donuts, but I used a bowl instead.

And that’s it!  These have to be the fasted donuts I’ve ever whipped up, and I am darn sure I will earn the Mommy Super Hero title a lot more often with this recipe in my hip pocket!

Darn Goods

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup Bisquick
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Heat oil in deep fryer or deep sided skillet to 375 degrees.
  • Mix sugar and cinnamon in paper bag or large bowl.  Set aside.
  • Stir Bisquick and 1/4 cup water to a soft dough.  Drop dough by teaspoons into hot fat.  Fry about 30 seconds on each side or until golden brown and puffy. Drain on paper towel.
  • While warm toss the donuts in the cinnamon sugar.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

