Homemade Labels For Homemade Brew

No more naked bottles!

At last, I have finally tackled the troublesome task of learning how to label my home brew.  The challenge for me wasn’t so much that I didn’t know how to design the labels.  I design things all the time in Photoshop.  The pesky problem lie more with choosing the print medium and method of adhesion.

Scraping labels from recycled bottles ranks right up there with cleaning the refrigerator and doing sit-ups as my most loathsome tasks.  The last thing I wanted to do was add to my label scraping misery by putting homemade labels on my bottles using an adhesive that would evoke four letter utterances from my mouth.

But, I just knew that the Skeeter Pee project had to be the one that finally freed me from the bondage of presenting naked bottles to my humble guests.  The naked bottle vs. label standoff is finally over!   I vow to never again subject partakers in my home brew to indecent vessels or mystery brews!

My adhesive solution: milk.  Yep, milk!  I read about it on a wine making forum and I thought I’d give it a try.  It made sense really.  If you’ve ever cried over spilt milk you’ll know it has a lot to do with the sticky mess spilled milk can leave behind.  Maybe milk was just the adhesive I have been hoping for.  Something to keep the labels in place just long enough for our beverage consumption pleasure but without the major label scraping headache I am accustomed to.

Utterly energized with the hope of at long last licking this troublesome problem, I sent my design to my printer.

Then, with printed labels in hand I then pondered the problem of the milk potentially smearing the printer ink (alliteration at its best!).  My crafty instincts told me that I needed to seal the ink in some fashion before applying the milk.  So I grabbed my trusty spray acrylic sealer and sprayed the printed designs.  After allowing the paper to dry, I used my paper trimmer to cut out the labels.

The first round of labels did smear a bit as I was too heavy handed with the spray sealer and I used my fingers to apply the milk to the back of the labels.  So the next round of labels I merely misted the labels with sealer, and used a basting brush to paint the back of the labels with an even coating of milk.  And voila!  Virtually no smearing and the labels were perfectly adhered to the bottles!  Hooray!

At this point I do not know how well the bottles will stand up to the chill of the refrigerator or being packed in a cooler full of ice.  But rest assured I will post an update after my milk slathered labels have been subjected to more adverse climate conditions.

If all goes well and the labels do the job they were hired to do, I plan to invest in a better quality printer paper for my labels.  The el cheapo paper I used for these bottles was a bit flimsy and I don’t think the ink saturated the paper as deeply as I would have liked for the best possible print quality.  My dear family will be my guinea pigs for my first batch of Skeeter Pee this weekend so I will have an opportunity to test their endurance as well as the ease in which they come off the bottles when it’s time for recycling.

8 thoughts on “Homemade Labels For Homemade Brew

  1. Hi! This is the fourth time visiting now and I really just
    wanted to say I truley relish reading your blogging site. I decided to bookmark it at stumbleupon.
    com with your title: Homemade Labels For Homemade
    Brew | Sassy Susan Creates and your URL: http://sassysusancreates.
    com/2012/07/12/homemade-labels-for-homemade-brew/.

    I hope this is all right with you, I’m attempting to give your wonderful blog a bit more visibility. Be back shortly.

    • Well, I must say you’ve made my day! It’s always nice to have feedback from those who stop by. I really appreciate your kind words and especially your efforts to send more readers my way.

      I’ve been swamped with projects and preparations for my parent’s 50th wedding anniversary, but I hope to be back to blogging soon after it’s all over.

      Thank you again for taking the time to comment and to spread the word about my blog! I hope you’ll come back again soon. 🙂

  2. Getting ready to start my first batch of pee this weekend and I’m wondering what font you used for the Skeeter Pee label. Care to share??

  3. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you might be a great
    author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will eventually
    come back later on. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your
    great work, have a nice weekend!

  4. Hi I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and
    would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through
    it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added
    in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up
    the awesome work.

    • Hi link,

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I am currently spending all my spare time learning photography and haven’t had time for any new posts, but I do plan to be blogging again soon… probably a lot about photography as it’s my newest passion!

      Thanks for visiting and posting a comment. They are always so appreciated.

      Susan

Leave a comment