Yogurt & Basil Dipping Sauce

One of my very favorite things about summer is the abundance of all the yummy “skinny” food that is so readily available.  Even more, I love all the skinny food growing in my very own garden!

These days my lunches often consist of a handful of freshly picked veggies dipped in a little salted butter or yogurt sauce.  So far my harvest has not yielded quite enough beans or sugar peas to serve my family, but by the looks of things in the garden those days are coming soon.

Today I decided to try a new recipe I found and it did not disappoint.  I used some of my homemade Greek yogurt and some sweet basil from my garden.  It was super simple to whip up and I will be adding this to my “company’s coming” repertoire.  I adapted the recipe a bit by reducing the amount of lemon juice.  I find that my Greek yogurt has just the right amount of tanginess to suit my taste buds.  The next time I make this I am going to give it a try with some purple basil.

Yogurt & Basil Dipping Sauce

  • 8 ounces Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 tablespoon minced garlic ( more or less if you like)
  • 1/8 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/8 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1/4 to taste salt
  • 1/4 to taste pepper

Mix all ingredients together and let stand for at least 15 minutes in order to allow flavors to mingle.

Leave a Reply

