Blossom End Rot

It’s a fabulously beautiful and breeze 74 degrees and my morning stroll through the garden with my little one was pure delight!  My sweet boy was already busy catching and drowning cucumber beetles when, with cup of coffee in hand, I joined him.  It’s unclear if his motivation to help keep these nuisance bugs from damaging our plants is because he enjoys the sheer challenge of it, or as is more likely the case, because I pay him a penny for each bug he drowns.  Either way, he’s happy and I’m happy!  I’m planning a special outing to the Dollar Store so he can spend his hard earned coins on a special treasure.

We have a few cherry tomatoes that are almost ready to be picked, and we found our first two green beans and a few more sugar peas that were ready for havesting.  Though not enough for a meal, I’ll make some yogurt dip and we’ll make a little snack out of them.

Unfortunately, I also found one of my beefsteak tomatoes had succumbed to blossom end rot.  I am not sure at this point if it’s a watering problem or a calcium deficiency.  I lost a lot of my tomatoes to this problem last year and I am determined to try to prevent the big losses this year by being proactive.  Yesterday I sprayed all of my tomato plants with a calcium chloride solution and I plan to continue spaying them every week or two throughout the growing season.

I purchased the calcium chloride from Amazon since I couldn’t find it in local stores.  Per some instructions I found at Walter Reeves website, I mixed two tablespoons with some water in a gallon milk jug and used this to fill my spay bottle I purchased at a dollar store.

I think it’s been a few weeks since I applied some Tomato-Tone so I’ll put down some more this week.  That seemed to help stop the blossom rot problem last year.  Realizing I can’t keep up with when I apply various fertilizers, etc., I recently created a spreadsheet to log my garden activities.  My hope is that it will not only help me to know when to my fertilizer applications are due, but also to help me figure out what’s working and not working with my plants.  It’s finally dawned on me that there’s a whole lot more to successfully growing your own food than popping some plants in the ground and watering them every once in a while.  Each day posses new challenges and opportunities to learn, but the delicious rewards are so worth the effort!

One thought on “Blossom End Rot

  1. Pingback: July 10 Garden Update | Sassy Susan Creates

Leave a Reply

