Lavender, Mint & Ginger Iced Tea

One of my favorite things about summer is cooking with herbs fresh from the garden.  This year I decided to plant a wide array of new herbs I’ve not grown before.  I am having fun trying new recipes and learning about the benefits of the various herbs.

During my research I stumbled on some tea recipes and, though I am not really a tea drinker, I thought it might be interesting to give some a try.  Yesterday I enjoyed a hot cup of Lemon Balm tea.  It was really yummy!  But alas it’s summertime and, as I am not inclined to give up my morning coffee, I thought I might prefer sipping some iced herbal tea.  So I set out to find some recipes.

I found a recipe for Lavender Iced Tea and decided to give it a whirl, with a twist!

I gathered the herbs and gave the ones from the garden a good wash.  I decided to go with the chocolate mint instead of the newly added orange mint since it’s still a fairly small plant.

I boiled 4 cups of water, added the herbs and let it steep for about 30 minutes.

After a few minutes the tea looked like this.

Though the original recipe called for using six cups of water, I went with four.  I didn’t have a larger vessel available to boil the water in the microwave and I figured it would get watered down when I poured it over the ice anyway.  Once it was finished steeping I strained the herbs and poured some over a glass of ice.  Instead of using honey to sweeten the tea, I opted for some of my homemade ginger syrup.

This was love at first sip!  Wow!  Now I am imagining all sorts of variations for this tea: a splash of sparkling water, some regular tea, or even some white wine would do quite nicely methinks.

Here’s my recipe.

Lavender Mint & Ginger Iced Tea

2 Tbsp. Lavender flowers (1 tablespoon dry)
1 Tbsp. Lemon balm (1 teaspoon dry, or one lemon slice)
1 Tbsp. Mint
3 Tbsp. Ginger Syrup

Pour six cups of boiling water on herbs and steep for ten to fifteen minutes.

Cool to room temperature.

Add ginger syrup and stir.

Pour over crushed ice.

Garnish with fresh mint or lemon balm leaves and a lavender blossom.

I wonder if the garden center has any more herbs?  I suddenly think my supply is much too small!  I am also running dangerously low on ginger syrup, so perhaps a post on that in the coming days…

2 thoughts on “Lavender, Mint & Ginger Iced Tea

  1. So pretty !! And it looks yummy and refreshing. My mom has the same ‘Tartan’ glasses. We used them as the base for the flower arrangements on each of the tables at our wedding reception. They are very versatile. : )

  2. Thanks, Angela! I never would have thought to use them as vases, but I am going to tuck that idea away since my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary is next year. Clever idea!

Leave a Reply

