Watchin’ My Corn Pop Up In Rows!

Been busy in the garden these last couple of weeks planting new plants and sowing a variety of seeds.  My efforts have already been rewarded with the emergence of lots of tiny seedlings!  I am perhaps most excited to see my corn making its debut!  I’ve been bopping all over the house and garden singing Tim McGraw’s song “Where The Green Grass Grows”.   My little one just giggles at my off-key rendition and chimes in to sing along with me.

Discovering a few spindly stalks of asparagus was also enough to make my day!  I had only just planted some roots and, having no experience with asparagus, really had no idea what to expect.

I missed the photo opp of the very first tiny asparagus and it was only a matter of days when all these plants appeared.

Cucumber, watermelon, and cantaloupe seedlings all emerged.  Were’ going to grow these vertically along one of the 4’x12′ beds.  Here’s a shot of the cucumber seedlings in the foreground with the watermelon and cantaloupe in the background along the left edge of the bed.

I am not seeing any impressive growth yet with the pepper transplants.  They might even be a touch too yellow.

But my poor tomato transplants really are looking jaundiced.  Can you use that term with plants? I don’t really know, but it’s the only way I know to describe it.

I decided to sprinkle a little Tomato Tone around the tomato beds to see if this would perk them up.  But my kale and spinach was also dropping the older leaves after turning yellow, and the peppers and cucumbers all seem too yellow to me.  So after some research I decided this could be a nitrogen deficiency.  Because I skimped and only used one type of compost when making the beds, I am assuming that my soil isn’t nutritionally balanced.   So I added a little blood meal to all of the beds to try to boost the nitrogen levels.  I was careful to add the blood meal sparingly  having read that too much nitrogen can cause the plants to be very lush and green, but may decrease fruit production, .

My lettuce seems to be doing pretty well, but the spinach just doesn’t look very healthy.  I hope the addition of the blood meal with help with production and keep the older leaves from turning yellow.

Here are a couple photos of the flowers in my hanging basket.

Gardening just increases my awe of my wonderful of my Maker!  Every time one of the seeds I’ve planted makes its appearance above the surface of the soil I am caught by surprise.  I imagine this sense of wonder will diminish the longer I am a gardener, but I truly hope it doesn’t as I am addicted to the feeling of elation mixed with a sense of accomplishment.

“I’m gonna live where the green grass grows
Watch my corn pop up in rows
Every night be tucked in close to you
Raise our kids where the good Lord’s blessed
Point our rocking chairs towards the West
And plant our dreams where the peaceful river flows
Where the green grass grows”

2 thoughts on “Watchin’ My Corn Pop Up In Rows!

Leave a Reply

